July 4th looooong weekend!

Scott’s dojo closed on July 4th and 5th this year and since Scott hadn’t taken a single day off since since Addilyn was born, he went ahead and took Wednesday the 3rd off as well. That means Addi and I had Daddy all to ourselves for 5 whole days! Woohoo! We had a pretty chill mini-stay-cation. We didn’t do much Wednesday, just some things around the house. Scott has had a few projects around the house on his ‘to do’ list and he knocked some of those out. He caulked some of the crown moulding that he never finished, replaced some lightbulbs and re-installed the baby gate at the stop of the stairs(for Lily, not Addilyn, yet!).

On the 4th, we went to Scott’s Dad’s house to grill out and see Scott’s brother and his wife who were visiting from out of town. It was really great to catch up with them since the last time we saw them was the day Addilyn was born and needless to say, I was pretty out of it! 😉

The guys went Frisbee Golfing and my MIL, SIL and Addi and I stayed back in the air conditioned house! It was in the 90s that day so I was happy to stay put!

Before we left for Dad’s house, Scott snapped a couple pictures of Addilyn and I and I. They turned out pretty good! Nothing like natural light for good pictures!

IMG_8412

IMG_8414

I got her little red and white polka dot outfit from the clearance rack at target, like $3! And I made her cute little headband out of jean-looking fabric, felt for the back and some buttons. I like the way it turned out!

Dad was so nice and offered to grill portobella mushrooms for me, since I don’t eat meat and they were delicious! We also had vegan potato salad and caprese. After we ate we played a few rounds of the game ‘things’, which is always fun!  No fireworks for us this year, we were protecting Addi’s ears, but we hope to see them next year!

The rest of the weekend was spent doing things around the house, going for walks around the neighborhood and relaxing.

After church on Sunday we went to my Mom and Dad’s for grilled ‘hot dogs'(vegan soy hot dogs) and potato wedges. Scott and I brought the fixin’s for vegan ‘mcflurry’s, which my Mom called McJimersons when we were kids! Soy Ice Cream from TJ’s, Justin’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups from WFs and Newmans O-s from WF also. They were really, really good!

It was a lovely break from the ‘daily grind’ and it was much needed for my hard working husband!  Addilyn and I loved having him around all day.  It took Addilyn all day Monday to adjust to Daddy being gone, we think babies don’t notice these things–but I’m confident they do!

Addilyn is being dedicated at our church this Sunday and we are super excited!  We have been waiting for this day for a long time, I can’t wait!

One thought on “July 4th looooong weekend!

  1. Cute pictures! Love her headband! Sounds like your 4th was perfect and relaxing!!

    Looking forward to hearing about the dedication!!

Leave a Reply

