Cloth Diapering 101

Hello! I have moved this post to my new blog CLICK HERE to be redirected to my new site. Thanks!! cloth diaper. happiness

Once you start cloth diapering, you will soon realize how true the above statement is.  There is just something special about choosing to put these quality, cotton diapers on your baby–rather than the full-of-chemicals-and-synthetic-materials-disposables!  It gives me this super-mom high and it makes me feel like I am choosing what is best for Addilyn.

 

17 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering 101

  1. Hello 🙂 Thanks for the update on telling me about this post. So I have planned to cloth diaper. I have almost everything, I decided to use Flip diapers made by the same company as BumGenius. The flat insert is super trim but for some reason when they are on him they look so big. He fits them no doubt but his bottom half is ginormous looking. He is nearly 12 weeks and around 13 pounds but he is long and slender. Truly the only think stopping me is the fact that they look bulky. In the meantime I have been using NATY diapers. So you have to add another insert with the elementals or is the one sewn in all you need?

    • The one sewn in the elementals is all you need and it’s VERY trim. I know exactly what you mean about his bottom half looking so big, Addilyn was the same way when we used the prefolds and covers. If I don’t do laundry in time and run out of clean bumgenius’ I will put a prefold and cover on her and they still look big and I’m guessing she is around 11-12 lbs, but very long and slender like you described your son. It really is a trial and error thing. I had the grovias because someone told me they were very trim, but to me, they were bulky on my little girl and I felt like they could be impeding her development in her legs since they were forced apart, if you know what I mean? So I sold the grovias(I had bought them used from a friend and ended up being able to sell them for more than I paid–crazy, right?) and that funded my elementals. I just bought one elemental to begin with to be sure I liked it, maybe you could do that? Flips are really popular so I’m betting you could sell them off on the babycenter cloth diaper swap or on a local cloth diaper FB page in your area 🙂 But of course, you could just stick it out and see if he grows into them. Let me know if I can help you at all! I can post some detailed pictures of the elementals if you’d like 🙂 Just let me know!

  2. Love this post! Good for you for sticking with it! So many people think I’m nuts to cloth, but seriously, it’s the only way that makes sense!! =}

  3. Thanks so much for this!! Such great information. I love the idea of using inserts and covers. This may seem like a silly question, but what do you do when you have “solids” in the diaper? Do you just walk the diaper to the bathroom and flush it each time? We’re expecting our first in a few months, and I really love the idea of cloth diapers and wipes, but figuring out how to deal with the poop makes me a little nervous…

    • Hey there!! They make diaper sprayers that hook right up to your toilet to help aid in the solids clean up. I usually get the bulk of it off by shaking it over the toilet and then use a sprayer to really get it clean. It’s definitely not fun, but it’s worth it 🙂

    • Hi there! I use a wipe warmer, so the CCO stays liquid 🙂 and we used an off brand sprayer, can’t remember the name..but now my daughter eats mostly solids so we don’t even need it. We just knock the solids into the toilet and that’s it 🙂

      • Thank you! just bought a cloth wipe warmer , do you leave your warmer on all day?on changing table ? i always worrie about electonics staying on but it seems to be safe othewise they wouldnt make them lol..

  4. We use a biodegradable diaper liner in our cloth AIOs. The poo sticks to that rather than the diaper, so you can just flip it all in to the toilet and most times no rinsing is needed. They sell them at bigger grocery stores and at the eco stores. Basically looks like a roll of toilet paper when you buy it. They’re pre-cut to fit cloth dipes, about as thin as a sheet of toilet paper, but it’s a little bit like mesh. And biodegradable! We don’t use them in every dipe since that could get pricey. Once those babes start to have a “schedule” you kinda know when it’s safe to skip it. My husband thinks they’re a lifesaver!

  5. Hi, I recently started using cloth diapers with my second baby and I came across this post. I am considering using cloth wipes as well. I was wondering what you do about cloth wipes for on the go, like in your diaper bag. thanks!

  6. I’ve been using prefolds for a while now (with our 2 year old and now with our newborn). We were using water on our wipes up till now… Our little one’s skin is so sensitive. I just made up a solution of water, tea tree oil, and coconut oil, and so far so good with the one poopy diaper we’ve had so far! Thanks for the idea. I found you on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

