What we’ve been up to & picture dump!

Miss Addilyn is already 7 weeks old and I am so behind on her updates! This past month and a half has been such a whirlwind and I can’t believe how much she has grown already! To say that she has completely stolen our hearts would be an understatement. She is our everything and I can’t even remember life without our sweet ‘Addi-bug’, as we very affectionately call her 🙂

Addi's first trip to Mt. Trasmore outside of the womb! =}

Addi’s first trip to Mt. Trasmore outside of the womb! =}

Sweet little 1 month old strawberry!

Sweet little 1 month old strawberry!

The sweetest toes-ies!

The sweetest toes-ies!

Addilyn and her bestest bud Katherine, just 11 days apart!

Addilyn and her bestest bud Katherine, just 11 days apart!

At 3 weeks our little angel developed some pretty severe infant acne which then was mixed with a reaction to something she came in contact with. Her poor little face was covered with bumps and then a rash on top of that 😦 We ended up taking her to the pediatrician once we noticed she was trying to scratch it, because we didn’t want her to be itchy. The Doc recommended a few over the counter creams, so we grabbed those on the way home. When I was applying them to her face, she s-c-r-e-a-m-e-d like I had never heard her scream before. It broke my heart. I quickly realized that the creams were making it worse and washed them all off within an hour. I decided to take a more natural approach and apply organic coconut oil, since the creams the Doc recommended were just moisturizers anyways. She didn’t make a peep while I applied the coconut oil, so obviously she was reacting to the creams :-/ A friend of mine suggested dabbing her face with a little salt water a few times a day. Within hours of washing with the warm salt water, both her rash and the acne started clearing up! I continued applying it 3x a day and after just a couple days she started to look like herself again!

Whew! First big parenting hurdle successfully cleared 😉

Sweetest. Girl. Ever.  She looks so big in this photo!

Sweetest. Girl. Ever. She looks so big in this photo!

5 weeks

5 weeks!

5 weeks!

Footprints at the midwifery center at 3 weeks!

Footprints at the midwifery center at 3 weeks!

Our days are filled with nursing, playing, walks at Mt. Trashmore and trips to diaper junction as I try and figure out which cloth diapers work best for us. I have started working from home and spend my mornings doing that while Scott watches Addilyn.

Since I got my first car(10 years ago, ack!), I have always wanted a personalized license plate, but was never able to think of something special enough to put on it–well I finally have something special enough 🙂 and 2 days ago I ordered my personalized license plate with Addilyn’s name, spelled out correctly(!!!!!), with no numbers instead of letters or anything! I’m sooo excited! It’s the little things, y’know?

I <3 those rosy cheeks!

I

First visit to the Dojo with Katherine!  5 weeks!

First visit to the Dojo with Katherine! 5 weeks!

ready to go home after meeting all her dojo family!

ready to go home after meeting all her dojo family!

Snuck a photo of daddy-daughter time.  She lights up when she sees him!

Snuck a photo of daddy-daughter time. She lights up when she sees him!

Addilyn went from nursing every 2 hours around the clock, to only waking up twice in the night to eat…that has been going on almost a week, so we will see if it sticks! I feel like a new person! Since she was born, I hadn’t slept more than 2 hours at a time, so her surprising me with 5 hours of sleep was uh-mazing!

She loves her pacifier, though I try to limit the amount of time she gets it. She ‘asks’ for it by smacking her lips and sucking on her hands, it’s really adorable.

20130522-141759.jpg

Outlet shopping on Mother’s Day!

20130522-141811.jpg

All the Mother’s Day shopping loot!

20130522-141839.jpg

Me on the right, Addi on the left. I think she looks a little like me—even though most people say she looks like Scott!

20130522-141901.jpg

I lay her down in her co-sleeper and when she wakes up 3-5 hours later, she is completely flipped with her feet propped on the edge, how does she do that?? lol!
20130522-141912.jpg

Sweet family at work got her these sunglasses, because we call her “Addi-bug” and sometimes even just ‘bug’ or ‘bugs’ lol!

20130522-141920.jpg

I’m off to wash cloth diapers and twiddle my thumbs until my girl wakes up :-p

One thought on “What we’ve been up to & picture dump!

  1. She is such a doll! I love that the natural remedies cleared her right up!! Noah had occasional eczema and coconut oil worked wonders!!

Leave a Reply

