DIY Initial Onesie

So I’ve been seeing these adorable onesies all over pinterest and etsy and the DIY-er in me couldn’t help but attempt to make one,  you know, instead of paying $18 for one 🙂

So here it is:

What you will need:
1.) Onesie
2.) Fabric
3.) Cardstock letter cutout(this lovely lady has free printables for the letters!!)
4.) Scissors
5.) Heat n Bond
6.) Beautiful fabric of your choice
7.) Sewing machine(optional)

Don’t you love that fabric? I grabbed it for $1.50 at Han.cock fabrics!

Cut out the cardstock letter and trace it on the back of your fabric.  Carefully cut the fabric with scissors or an x-acto knife. 
 Follow the instructions on the heat n bond and bond the paper to the letter and cut it out.
 Heat n bond applied, ready for application
 Peel off the heat n bond on the back of the onesie and align where you want it to be permanent on the onesie. 
 Iron for a few seconds
 There it is…
 I wanted a more finished look so I used the zig-zag stitch on my machine to finish it off.  It’s not perfect, my sewing skills aren’t quite what they could be, but I think it’s cute.  I will probably add a little bow or something to the top left of the “A” to add some texture.

Our little girl’s first mama-made onesie–What do you think?

Photobucket

Sharing at:

7 thoughts on “DIY Initial Onesie

  1. Great job! I'm going to try my first applique project on Monday. I'm curious as to how it holds up in the wash. Does the fabric start to fray a bit between stitches? I hadn't thought to do an initial, but I love that idea. I think I'll make onesies for my twin nephews!

  2. Thanks Ashleigh- It's not too late! I'm making a matching onesie and tshirt for my two nephews!Bonny- My baby isn't due until March, so I haven't washed it with the appliqué on. I did a pretty tight stitch, so I doubt it would fray. If you are worried about that, you could always apply a little of that anti-fray solution to the applique. Good luck!

  3. So lovely!!! Love the colors fabric! Thanks so much for sharing the great tutorial! I'd love for you to visit my blog. Happy week!Hugs from Portugal,Ana Love Craftwww.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

  4. Kristin too cute! I use to make little onuses when my boys were babies!:( I loved doing it. Thanx for sharing at THT. I hope your week is going well and hope to see you around more.

Leave a Reply

