Why hello iPhone 5

I’ll be the first to admit that I am a little obsessed with phones.  I think started back when I was working at a doctors office and everyone was talking about their blackberry’s all the time, all the while I still had a ‘dumb-phone’.  I was jealous of their facebooking, emailing, calendar-keeping capabilities. My husband, being awesome, realized I was talking about getting a pretty pink blackberry way too much and decided to surprise me with it.  And I think that is where it began…

Then I got a droid, only because verizon still wasn’t carrying the iPhone.  Everyone knows iPhones are superior, it’s just a fact.  But I settled with a droid because that was the best option.

Then, less than 6 months later—dun, dun, dun–Verizon gets the iPhone.  But I wasn’t due to upgrade for another 1.5 years.  Fail…almost, until my husband saves the day once again and give me his upgrade, since he prefers his ‘dumb-phone’.  We still had the whole cost factor to work out, as spending $199 on a phone(when I had a perfect 6 month old new one), wasn’t exactly in the budget.  And this, my friends, is when I discovered the magic of ebay.  I sold that 6-month-new droid for a whopping $400!  Yep.  Turns out, people break their phones all the time and without a contract a new smart phone can run you anywhere between $4-$600.  Score.  All that to say, I got my iPhone 4 and pocketed the $200.  Then I proceeded to gather all the old phones in the house and auction them all off on ebay, making us another $200.  Score again.

Fast forward 1.5 years and Verizon releases the iPhone 5.  I held back from getting the iPhone 4s in order to save my upgrade for the 5.  I’ve been waiting for this for months.  It’s weird, I know.

Here was my master plan that I created 2 months ago:

It was rumored that apple would announce the 5 on 9/12 and pre-orders would be available on 9/14 and the actual release date to be 9/21.  But no one actually knew.  That is exactly how it played out though.
My plan was to hear about the 5 on 9/12, if I liked it/thought it was worth the $$, I would put my iPhone 4 on ebay, hope it would sell between 9/12 and 9/13, pre-order the 5 on 9/14, ship the iPhone 4 to my mystery buyer on 9/15, be without a phone for Saturday and Sunday(no biggie), leave for the cruise on Monday(where you don’t need/use a phone) and return on Friday to a beautiful new iPhone 5 on my doorstep.

Crazy plan, right?  The cruise is the key because it makes it possible for me to be without a phone for a week.

Well, it happened.  I put my iPhone 4 on ebay last night and it was sold by the morning.  I’ll pre-order the 5 tonight and it will arrive at my parents house on Wednesday.

I realize this was a really long post about a few smartphones.  But like I said, I’m kind of obsessed.  And I’m stoked that my little plan worked!

Photobucket

One thought on “Why hello iPhone 5

  1. I'm obsessed too. I am the queen of Craigs List when it comes to the selling of phones. I've done this so many time. I have had a Blackberry Pearl, Blackberry Curve I & II, Blackberry Storm, iPhone (from AT&T), came back to Verizon – got a Droid, Droid X and the Razor…I begged for the iPhone 4s…hubby did the same thing yours did…and gave me his upgrade and I'm back with Verizon still with the iPhone since March. And by far iPhones are my favorite smart phone. You are right-they are just the bomb.com! But, I used to work for a phone company and how could I not be addicted. So, I think yours is totally normal. 🙂 I do like eBay…I do not know why I don't use it more often!!! Great post! … and sorry I have not visited for awhile. I have missed a lot. Congrats on being pregnant. Happy Thursday! ♥ Stephany

Leave a Reply

