A new way of eating…

I think I may of just discovered something that will revolutionize my way of eating–and our lives for that matter!

As you know from my previous post, my husband and I are going strictly vegan(no meat, dairy, fish or anything that had a mother) for the month of May. Our reasons being mostly for health, partly for weight loss(me) and partly for not liking the factory farming methods.

Most people don’t even consider eating Vegan because it can be quite overwhelming.  I can tell you from experience that it isn’t that bad.  You just have to be willing to completely change how you view food and meals.  And this next thing has made things SO much easier…

Green Smoothies….

Yes, they look crazy but I assure you, they are delicious.  The trick is finding the balance of greens to fruits.  
I picked up a book called “The Green Smoothie Diet” by Robin Openshaw yesterday.  I read the whole thing yesterday and the book totally sold me on the concept!

The Smoothie

fist full of spinach
fist full of kale
banana
apple
strawberry
orange
lemon
mixed berries and mango
1/2 cup of almond milk

 The scariest part about eating vegan is trying to fit in the appropriate amount of protein, fiber, calcium…etc  in your diet.  The main way you do that is by eating beans, grains, lentils and TONS of vegetables and fruits.  The problem is that not everyone loves eating bowls full of kale(which by the way, absorbs several times its weight in toxins and yucky things in your body and flushes them out), so we eat things we are “comfortable with–such as cucumbers, broccoli and romaine lettuce.  Those few vegetables do not give you the adequate vitamins and minerals needed to live a vegan lifestyle.

That’s where green smoothies come in.  You get 12-15 servings of fruits and vegetables in 1 delicious drink!  Sign me up!  It’s a perfect meal replacement drink.

All those fruits and veggies pictured above makes all this smoothie!

Those of you with kids, I hear it’s a great way to get your kids to eat their greens!  I’m not lying about the taste…it really is good!

Photobucket

One thought on “A new way of eating…

  1. this is AWESOME!!!!! I totally agree with it all. I think I could do it, but getting my hubby on board might be tricky…or more like impossible! good for you that you're both doing it! Can't wait to hear what you decide to do and how your cholestorol changes as a result! Yay for being healthy!

Leave a Reply

