Cleaner Living Challenge!

If you have been reading my blog for long, you’ll know that I love eating organic foods.  Nothing prepackaged, processed or artificial.  Lucky for me, I have an amazing farmers market 5 minutes from my house and 2 great organic grocery stores too.  It makes that sort of lifestyle really easy. 
I’ve been challenging myself to slowly eliminate anything and everything that isn’t natural and organic from my life.  From facial cleansers and shampoos all the way to what I clean my toilets with.  It can be daunting and expensive if you do it all at once, but I’ve chosen to slowly find alternatives to my household items once they run out. 
So, with Spring headed our way, I’m taking a personal challenge to clear out all my old, potentially hazardous cleaners and products, to replace with “clean”, natural products. 
I read an article recently that talked about how preservatives, additives, chemicals and other artificial ingredients can affect your hormones and (sorry if TMI) even your monthly cycles!  Who knew?  I didn’t realize that the stuff I was cleaning my shower with could potentially throw off my hormone balance, that’s scary to me.  Not to mention the fact that those chemicals build up in your system and can be “off-loaded” to your first born child, eek!
So, for the next month, I’m going to be sharing recipes for household cleaning items and some of my favorite organic/natural cleansers and various products! 

First up is a face/body cleanser:
I discovered this really fabulous, all natural soap.  It comes in a big fat bar and is only $3.70 at my local organic depot.   When I bought it, I was skeptical.  But after just one use, I knew we’d be friends.
Meet Dr. Bronners Pure-Castile Soap!
It is completely organic and made of natural minerals and oils.  The peppermint makes the soap smell great and it gives an awesome tingle when used as a facial cleanser. 
I have naturally oily skin, but sometimes my skin gets really dry.  It’s a hard balance, usually it’s either TOO oily or TOO dry.  Ugh!  But this soap gets rid of the excess oil without drying my skin one bit.  I LOVE IT!

Photobucket
(these are completely my opinions, no compensation was given for this review)

One thought on “Cleaner Living Challenge!

  1. I love that stuff. On a side note, they also make it in liquid form and you can re-fill old hand soap pump bottles with it.Also, to find cheaper soaps, often times right next to these bars are locally made natural soaps. Sometimes you have to try a few to find one you like the smell, texture, and lather of, but I've experimented and found some great ones. One local place makes a soap out of goat's milk scented with beer. They call it "drunken goat's milk". It's not for me, but the husband likes it and it's not a bad hand soap (and you don't smell too much of beer after)

Leave a Reply

