Our Weekend!

I feel like all my posts recently are just a mish-mosh of random facts and happenings.  I guess that’s okay, I feel like my life is a little crazy right now, so I guess my posts are just going along with it.  
First things first.  I got my grain mill and baking supplies on Thursday night and I set everything up that night so I was prepared to start baking on Friday morning.  I woke up early Friday morning and baked my first 2 honey whole wheat loaves!  Let me tell you, they were delicious and worth every minute of extra work to create them!  The best part is that they are SO delicious and have so much flavor that they taste wonderful without any butter or fatty topping.  Love. Love. Love
Here is a photo of my very first loaf of bread coming out of the oven:
I was so proud that it looked edible and the fact that it was delicious was icing on the cake!

Since that first loaf of bread, I’ve baked a total of 10 loaves(some cinnamon raisin, also delish!) and distributed them to my various family members.  I’ve had such a great response, that I’m considering starting a small business out of it and baking the breads to sell at my beautiful local farmer’s market.  This farmer’s market is totally awesome and literally down the street from my house.  The best part of all is that there are NO vendors that bake and sell freshly baked bread, let alone bread baked from FRESHLY MILLED WHEAT!  Hello!  I’m considering doing this, but I’ve got a lot to think about before this becomes official.  But I must say, having my own bread baking business, coming up with a cute name and logo…sounds totally awesome to me.  But we shall see…

I had the pleasure of spending the day with my Mother in her ‘in home daycare’ last week.  The kids are so so sweet and love it when I come to visit.  It’s so sweet because the 3 little girls she watches share my same love for disney princess’s.  In fact, if you ask them, they will tell you I AM a princess, thanks to my large wedding photo on my Mother’s mantel.  Haha.  Gotta love it.   My grandmother came to visit that day and I got a picture of her holding my nephew Jacob.  I want to show you how he has GROWN!
Jacob on his BIRTH day

Jacob 9 months later!  He looks like such a big
kid in this picture!  He is so so precious. 
On saturday, we had 60 degree weather and the beautiful sun was shining!  Scott has been working like a crazy man, literally.  He said once he got back from work on Saturday, that it was going to be “Kristin Day” and we could do whatever I wanted.  Believe it or not, I’m a huge animal lover.  It might shock you, considering I have a 5lb fluff ball for a dog, that *ahem* doesn’t shed AND is hypoallergenic.  But I do.  I love them.  I would spend every weekend at the zoo if it were possible, I love it that much.  So, to the ZOO it was!  And, to make it ever sweeter, we swung by to pick up my little cousin on the way!  Everything is more fun with him, he’s so much fun!

He had more fun playing with the dirt than he did watching the animals.
Look closely, see that brown thing Scott is holding?  Yeah, that’s a monkey tail and it is attached to a monkey back pack strapped onto little Micah.  I was so embarrassed to walk around with him on a leash, but I guess you gotta do, what you gotta do! 
He was a rather slow walker, so we tried the shoulders thing for a little bit.  How adorable is Micah? 

Watching the monkeys!

See that little baby on her back?  It was asleep the whole time, the zookeeper said the baby was born THAT morning.  He/She was so so cute!

In true Hampton Roads fashion, we had 60 degree weather on Saturday and Snow on Sunday.  Yep, that’s just how we roll!

Kristin

One thought on “Our Weekend!

  1. You go girl!! I think a bread business sounds AWESOME!!! You know you can count on me to stop in when I'm in town AND tell everyone I know that is still there ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep me posted!Oh, we baked the "ooey gooey" bread from the BB website…so yummy!!! It's just the right amount of sweet for breakfast! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

