Monogram Door Hanging!

I don’t like to be caught without some sort of wreath or decoration hanging on my door, am I the only one?  It’s something so simple that just spruces up your home and welcomes people in!  
The trouble is that February is kind of an in-between month, right?  It’s not the Holidays anymore and it’s not quite spring yet, so what do you do?  I know a lot of people would say a Valentine’s decoration, but I’m not a huge fan of the reds and pinks, honestly.  I like a more classy, timeless look.  I don’t decorate for Valentine’s Day, St. Patricks Day, Easter…etc.  Not that there is anything wrong with decorating for those holidays πŸ˜‰
So here is my solution:
Jute wrapped, monogram door hanging!
What you will need:
Wooden monogram letter(michael’s $2.99)
Jute(michael’s $2.99)
Hot glue gun and glue sticks
Decorative flower of your choice(michael’s $.99)
Ribbon(michael’s $.75)

 Start with a line of glue on the back of the letter
Start the twine on the back of the letter
 I wrapped the difficult areas first, I ended up doing a base layer and then a top layer of jute.  It gives it a more uniform look in the end.
Just keep wrapping, wrapping and wrapping!

Sometimes it helps when you have an adorable puppy sitting with you πŸ˜‰
 My lil’ craft buddy!
See how I wrapped the top layer?   

I wrapped the bottom layer vertically and the top layer horizontally
 Voila! Done!
I added a little bunch of flowers, wrapped a ribbon around and hot glued it.

Finished product!

I’m happy with it.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to trade the black flowers out for some purple flowers.  Black flowers just aren’t what I was looking for, but Michael’s didn’t have a great selection while I was there.

I have to apologize for the annoying watermarks on my finished product photos.  With pinning and all the crazy people on the internet, I don’t want my photos to become disconnected with my blog.  I work hard on my projects and I don’t want anyone else getting the credit πŸ™‚ You should consider doing the same!

Photobucket
Sharing at…

Inspired by…

Posted in DIY

39 thoughts on “Monogram Door Hanging!

  1. Hi Kristin! Following you from the blog hop! Great job with the N! I recently tried doing something similar with yarn and it's hard to do!! So good on ya for making it look good!Nancyalifedesigned.blogspot.com

  2. Stopping by from Nifty Thrifty! I like the simple things and monograms. You did a really great job on the monogram, looks really pretty on your front door. Thanks for showing us how to make one for ourselves. I've got my fingers crossed that you'll share on Sunday's Best Party this evening! Sharing is a good thing!

  3. I LOVE it!! I am your newest Linky follower!! PLEASE come follow me!! I also have a blog hop going that I would LOVE for you to link this project up tohttp://www.randeesorganizedchaos.com/2012/02/sleppy-sunday-linky-party-with-giveaway.html

  4. Hi Kristin, stopping by from The Gunny Sack link party. Your letter turned out great! Thanks for sharing the tutorial. It's very helpful.I'm following you now. Greetings from Spainhttp://www.handmadebyizz.blogspot.com/

  5. looks great! i've done a few of these.. such a great gift! did you have issues with the twine staying put? i did, and had to keep gluing .. which took a lot more time! i like the way you added a thicker dimension on the right side πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Kristin! This is a great project and a great tutorial! Your craft buddy is too cute! Looking forward to working with you over at POP, and new follower! :)Hugs,Heather Pwww.heather-p.blogspot.com/

  7. Love your "N" and you have a great blog! I'm visiting from the Linky Follower Party and am your newest GFC and Linky Follower. I'd love for you to visit my blog and follow back! Have a great day!Marilyn4you-withlove.blogspot.com

  8. I love anything with initials…this turned out so cute! Following from the linky blog hop…if you get a chance, I'd love you to stop by my blog & follow along too!Sallyloveofhomes.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

