Spruce up cheap decor and a few finishing touches!

I hope everyone had a great super bowl weekend!  We went to a friends house to watch and had a ton of fun.  I brought guacamole and chocolate chip coconut cookies{mmm!}. 
I just wanted to share a quick tip on how to spruce up a cheap store-bought item:
I really love decorating with words.  Words are so meaningful and can change the way you feel so easily.  That’s why I love them. 
I found these letters at Michael’s for $1.99 each.  They are white and kind of plain. 

I really loved the letters, but I knew they needed a touch of color in order to feel like they belonged there.  I grabbed my ol’ faithful paint brush and my Martha Stewart “pond” paint and went to work!
Here is how they turned out:

Cute, right?  I thought it added just the right amount of color without making the letters overwhelm the space.  You can barely see the teal depending on the angle you are looking at them and I think they fit perfectly. 
Now, if I could just learn to DO what those letters say…haha, we’d be in good shape!
Also, we added a few finishing touches to the LR/DR makeover, so I wanted to share a few more photos.

Do you like my model?  She insists on being in all my photos.

We got the mirror, vases and filler from home goods.  

STILL need to get a new chandelier, that white one is driving me nuts!

I looooove it!

 I worked on my blog design this weekend.  I’m not very happy with it, I might be hiring a designer soon! 😉  So bear with me during all the changes!

Sharing at:

Photobucket

Posted in DIY

11 thoughts on “Spruce up cheap decor and a few finishing touches!

  1. I just jumped onto your blog and for a second thought I was in the wrong place, lol! Your new header is very pretty!! :)Love your letters, your room is really shaping up nicely!!

  2. I love your house! Its so pretty, and I love your paint color on the walls! O, and I love those owls, so cute!… I think your blog looks cute! Its "simple" and bright! I've changed my blog design a few times! Its hard to find whats right for "me"! But I think yours looks good! Good luck!Stefaniehttp://myblissfulhappiness.blogspot.com/

  3. Love the dark gray with the white furniture! Very classy. I am your newest follower on GFC and Linky followers! Stopped by from It's So Very Cheri's blog hop. Hope you stop by and visit me @ toddlindsey.com

Leave a Reply

