Resisting Temptation

So, some smart lady posted a picture of a beautiful little Calico Kitten on fb the other day.  She needs a home.  I always had cats growing up and while I prefer dogs, I still like cats.

I have been endlessly trying to convince my husband that I need this beautiful kitten, but it’s not working!  He isn’t budging!  I don’t instantly fall in love with cats like this…Calico cats have a special place in my heart…and this is why:

When I was 8 years old, I asked my parents if I could get a kitten.  They were fine with it, but I had to pay for the kitten with my own money.  I used to get $1/week for allowance and I saved up $10 in order to buy a kitten.  My mother and I searched the newspaper for kittens within my price range and finally after a few weeks found some!  They were $10, the exact amount I had saved 🙂  I stepped into the ladies house and I was overwhelmed by some of the cutest kittens I had ever seen!  One immediately caught my eye and she was a calico.  After playing with all the kittens, the lady asked me which one I wanted, I immediately spouted out “The calico cat!”…after a few moments she said “Oh, I’m sorry, but I’m kind of attached to that one…pick another”  Pick another?  Pick another?  I had already fallen in love with that kitten!  Regretfully, I picked out another kitten, she was an orange and white tabby cat.  I name her KC(kristin’s cat, clever right?).  I had a lot of fun with her while she was a kitten and then once she got older we realized that she was actually a he and wouldn’t stop peeing all over everything!  Needless to say, my parents made me get rid of KC because of his “marking his territory” issues 😦

So, 14 years later, someone posts a picture of a calico kitten and I melt into a million pieces.  My husband is still saying no, but I’m hoping he’ll change his mind.

We shall see…

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

