Nephew Cuteness and Uganda Ministries

It’s been a while since I’ve had the time to post!  I really like using this as a way to write down important things I want to remember, so I have got to get into the habit of writing more often!

First things first…Let it be known that I have the cutest little nephew EVER!

I have been thoroughly enjoying our new church(well, new since January).  I feel like every week, the sermon was written especially for me!  God has really been stirring and changing my heart and I couldn’t be more excited about it!  A couple of months ago, I ran across this blog and it really caught my attention.  I think I read pretty much all her posts within 2 days, I was totally captivated by her story.  At the age of 19 she let go of her dreams of becoming a college student to follow God’s plans for her life.  Little did she know 3 years later she would be living just outside of a slum community in Uganda with 14 adopted daughters!  She is younger than I am and has already accomplished so much.  She has such a challenging and exciting life and it intrigues me.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading her blog and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about her and what an amazing thing she is doing in Uganda.  After I found her blog I started praying and thinking about going on a missions trip.  I really have a heart for orphans and have sponsored children in Korea for a while.  God started putting things and people in my way that pointed me towards a missions trip–specifically to Uganda.  So Scott and I are praying about it and we will see how the next few months unfold, but if we are able to go, we would love to go to Uganda in April of 2012 to minister to the orphans at Canaan’s Childrens Home and Amazima Ministries.  Scott and I have already committed to sponsoring 2 of the children at Amazima and are hoping for the chance to sponsor even more.  If we get to visit Uganda, I would love to be able to meet those kids in person.

I bought Katie Davis’s book “Kisses from Katie” and have thoroughly enjoyed reading it.  I was so sad once I finished the book and I just wanted to keep reading!  She employs 19 Karamojong Women through a program where she taught them how to make necklaces and bracelets out of recycled magazines.  The jewelry is so pretty and I hope to order mine soon!  I think they would make great Christmas gifts, so I will probably use them for that too!  I just love that the money go directly to these wonderful women.  It keeps them from having to prostitute themselves, brew alcohol and dig through the trash piles for food for themselves and their children.

You can see the beautiful necklaces here.

So as of right now, I am praying about this opportunity.  I’m still not 100% sure this is what God has for us, but I’m really excited to see!

I will leave with one of my favorite quotes from her book:

“The truth is that 143 million orphaned children and the 11 million who starve to death or die from preventable diseases and the 8.5 million who work as child slaves, prostitutes, or under other horrific conditions and the 2.3 million who live with HIV add up to 164.8 million needy children.  And though at first glance that looks like a big number, 2.1 billion people on this earth proclaim to be christians.
The truth is that if only 8 percent of the christians would care for one more child, there would not be any statistics left.”  -Katie Davis

I want to step up and do my part–whatever that may be!

Photobucket

2 thoughts on “Nephew Cuteness and Uganda Ministries

Leave a Reply

